Children’s Health Foundation of Vancouver Island welcomes new board chair and two directors for 2018-19

Children’s Health Foundation of Vancouver Island is pleased to announce the appointment of its new Board Chair Sandra Hudson, and two new Board Directors Dr. Jennifer Balfour and Ian Wheatley.

“As we begin a new year on the board of Children’s Health Foundation of Vancouver Island, I am looking forward to working with our incredible board and staff teams as we continue to provide innovative investments to support the health of kids from across Vancouver Island and the surrounding islands,” says new Board Chair Sandra Hudson.

Previously vice chair, Sandra is now taking over the role of board chair from Bill Snell, who will continue serving on the board as past chair.

Dr. Jennifer Balfour is a pediatric physician based out of Victoria General Hospital. For the past 14 years, Jennifer has done clinical work in Courtenay – Comox, Parksville, Qualicum, Nanaimo, and now Victoria. She has a year of fellowship training in Pediatric Infectious Diseases, as well as a strong interest in the wide range of challenges a consultant generalist sees daily.

“I am a big believer in a pediatrician supporting their patients in multiple settings, whether that be the hospital, their offices, a development centre, the school or their home, and for bigger centres to support smaller centres in achieving equitable health care access regardless of geography or economic barriers. I have joined the Foundation as a venue to be active in my community and help highlight and action opportunities to further the health and well being of children and youth,” says Jennifer.

Ian Wheatley is a Senior Associate with the Greenard Group at Scotia Wealth Management. For the past year he has been part of the Finance Audit Investment and Risk (FAIR) committee and has most recently joined the board as a director.

“I was first introduced to Children’s Health Foundation of Vancouver Island when I took my daughter to one to the Foundation’s former events, the Kaleidoscope Ball. There, I learned more about the fantastic work that the Foundation does and wanted to help in any way I could,” says Ian.


The following is a full list of the board of directors for 2018-19:

Board Chair: Sandra Hudson, Account Director, Sandra Hudson Communications Inc.

Vice Chair/Treasurer: Bryan Thomson, Retired

Secretary: Kay Melbye, Lawyer, Brown Henderson Melbye

Past Chair: Bill Snell, Chartered Accountant


  • Dr. Jennifer Balfour, Pediatrician
  • Blair Hagkull, International Director & Managing Director, Jones Lang Lasalle
  • Cory Herrera, Provincial Public Servant (retired)
  • Don Hubbard, President and CEO of Hubbard Consulting Ltd and Chairman of Atlas Engineered Products Ltd. (AEP.V)
  • Owen Matthews, General Partner, Wesley Clover
  • Doug McCorquodale, Owner, Pacificus Biological Services
  • Dr. Norgrove Penny, Orthopaedic Surgeon
  • Pat Schneider, President, Macro Consulting
  • Ian Wheatley, Senior Associate, Greenard Group at Scotia Wealth Management

The Foundation recognized outbound board directors at the Foundation’s Annual General Meeting on September 18, 2018 to thank them for their commitment. This includes Dr. Frank Jagdis who is a retired pediatrician who served as a board director for eight years, and Dr. Sarah Williams, who served on the board since 2014.

“I am grateful for the dedication and commitment from Dr. Frank Jagdis and Dr. Sarah Williams. It has been a pleasure working alongside them while we navigate the ever-changing landscape of child and youth health care needs. Dr. Jagdis’ experience as a pediatrician provided the Foundation with invaluable insight. I’d also like to thank Bill Snell for his tremendous leadership and dedication as board chair and am glad he will stay on as past chair. Looking ahead, I am pleased to be working with our newly established board of directors with Sandra Hudson at the helm, who has dedicated six years to our board and works tirelessly to ensure we help fulfill our vision of ensuring all Island families have access to the health care they need. We have a promising year ahead,” says Veronica Carroll, CEO of Children’s Health Foundation of Vancouver Island.


Past board of directors for 2017-18 from left to right:

Shown in main image

Dr. Frank Jagdis,

Doug McCorquodale,

Blair Hagkull,

Dr. Norgrove Penny,

Sandra Hudson,

Veronica Carroll (CEO),

Bryan Thomson,

Pat Schneider,

Bill Snell,

Owen Matthews,

Cory Herrera.

[Not shown: Don Hubbard, Kay Melbye, Dr. Sarah Williams]


To learn more about the Foundation’s impact in 2017-18 read the Annual Impact Report here.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *